18th International Mathematics Conference held at IUB

The 18th International Mathematics Conference of the Bangladesh Mathematical Society (BMS) was held at Independent University, Bangladesh (IUB) from 20-22 March 2014. The inaugural ceremony of the conference was held on 20 March, 2014. Professor A.K. Azad Chowdhury, Chairman ((State Minister), University Grants Commission of Bangladesh (UGC) graced the occasion as Chief Guest and addressed the audience. Mr. Rashed Chowdhury, Chairman, Board of Trustees, IUB, and Mr. Nurul Alam, Trustee, A. F. Mujibur Rahman Foundation spoke on the occasion as Special Guests. Professor M Omar Rahman, Vice Chancellor, IUB spoke on the occasion as Chief Patron. The inaugural ceremony was chaired by Professor M. Anwar Hossain, President, Bangladesh Mathematical Society. The top 10 prizes of the Final Event of the 5th National Undergraduate Mathematics Olympiad were distributed during the inaugural ceremony. The inaugural ceremony was followed by a plenary session in which a Keynote address on Mathematics as a Key to Development was given by Professor Jamilur Reza Chowdhury, Vice-Chancellor, University of Asia Pacific.

More than 150 mathematicians from 6 countries presented their research at the conference. There were papers presented in many different areas of Pure and Applied Mathematics. As part of the conference, a session was held in remembrance of Late Professor Jamal Nazrul Islam. The Conference Dinner was hosted by Professor A. A. M. S Arefin Siddique, Vice Chancellor, University of Dhaka at his residence on 22 March, 2014.

The Conference was organized by the Department of Physical Sciences, IUB. The Conference was sponsored by several academic and non-academic institutions and by some individual donors.