Bangladesh Physics Olympiad held at IUB

The 9th Bangladesh Physics Olympiad 2019 was held at the Independent University, Bangladesh (IUB) on October 13, 2018, Saturday at IUB’s own campus in Bashundhara, Dhaka.

The daylong program started in the morning with hoisting of national flag and singing national anthem. Thereafter, Physics exam begins. In the afternoon, an interactive question-answer session was held.

After the program, Prof. Milan Pagon, Pro-Vice Chancellor, IUB distributed medals and certificates among the winners of Physics Olympiad as the Chief Guest. Prof. Mohammed Anwer, Dean, School of Engineering and Computer Science, IUB; Dr. Habib Bin Muzaffar, Head, Department of Physical Sciences, IUB; Prof. M. Arshad Momen, Coach, Bangladesh Team, International Physics Olympiad and Mr. Fayez Ahmed Jahangir Masud, General Secretary, Bangladesh Physics Olympiad Central Committee were also present on the occasion.

Large number of schools and colleges took part in this year’s Physics Olympiad. Primarily, 146 winners from A, B and C categories were rewarded. In category ‘A’ 150 students from class 6-8 participated. Similarly, category ‘B’ 250 students of class 9-10, and 350 students for category C from intermediate level participated in this event. Four more female students of class-vi were specially awarded with certificate. All participants visited IUB laboratories.

Bangladesh Physics Olympiad is being organized annually and takes place in two phases. The first phase consists of 15 regional contest. IUB is hosting the contest for Dhaka (North) region. The top performers from national contest will be invited to participate in a training camp from which the best few will be selected to represent Bangladesh in the Asian and International Physics Olympiad. 9th Physics Olympiad was patronized by Prothom Alo and Dutch-Bangla Bank Ltd.